Search

Home > News

News

Read the latest news from the University of Cape Town's Libraries.

UCT Libraries Closed on 9 August
Monday, August 7, 2017 - 08:30

UCT Libraries will be closed for Women's Day on the 9th of August 2017. The Hlanganani 24/7 study space will be available for use during this time.

Hlanganani
Hlanganani opening late on 20 Jan
Tuesday, January 19, 2016 - 09:15

Hlanaganani Level 6 will open at 10h00 on Wednesday 20 Jan to accommodate a general staff meeting. 

Library Late Opening, 4 August 2017
Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 13:15

UCT Libraries will open at 10h00 on Friday 4 August 2017 to accommodate a general staff meeting. Apologies for any inconvenience.

Professor Phakeng, DVC Research & Internationalisation
Review: Launch of the new institutional data repository, ZivaHub
Friday, November 10, 2017 - 13:00

DLS' Digital Curation Officer, Kayleigh Lino, writes about the department's engagement activities leading up to the launch of ZivaHub, UCT's new data repository.

Primo
UCT Libraries’ new information-finding solution
Thursday, November 9, 2017 - 12:15

The University of Cape Town Libraries will soon be going live with a world-class information-finding solution, Primo.

Mr South Africa scores a PhD
Monday, July 24, 2017 - 08:30

The current Mr South Africa, Habib Noorbhai, is among the PhD graduates at the mid-year graduation at UCT on 14 July. His research into the backlift technique in cricket – an essential component of a sound batting technique – has underpinned the design of a revolutionary training bat.

Immelman, level 4 Closed
Monday, July 17, 2017 - 07:45

Immelman level 4 will be closed for renovations and will re-open on Monday 21 August 2017. Apologies for any inconvenience.

Library Learning Lounge Closure
Friday, July 14, 2017 - 16:30

The Library Learning Lounge will be closed for the Vacation from 17 July to 11 August 2017 and will re-open on Monday 14 August. Please use the facilities in the main library during this time. 

Main Library: Email and telephonic communication unavailable.
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 - 09:00

All telephone and E-mail communication to the Main Library is currently not available. This is being attended to, and we will inform you once communication is restored.

LIBRARY HOURS DURING PROTEST
Thursday, October 26, 2017 - 11:15

Please check the UCT Libraries Facebook & Twitter accounts for the latest updates on operating hours, and also follow the Campus Updates.

Thank you.

UCT Libraries Closed on 25 September
Monday, September 18, 2017 - 08:00

UCT Libraries will be closed for the Public Holiday on Monday, 25 September. The Hlanganani 24/7 study area will be available for use during this time.

Jewish Studies Collection moved to Main Library
Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 08:15

The Jewish Studies branch library collection has been in the process of moving into the Main Library collection, with the advantage of accessibility during the far longer opening hours of the Main Library.We are pleased to announce that this move has now been completed. The branch library space will now revert to the Kaplan Centre and the branch website will be discontinued.

Pages