Search

Home > News

News

Read the latest news from the University of Cape Town's Libraries.

UCT Libraries Closed on 9 August
Monday, August 7, 2017 - 08:30

UCT Libraries will be closed for Women's Day on the 9th of August 2017. The Hlanganani 24/7 study space will be available for use during this time.

Library Basics skills training session
Monday, March 26, 2018 - 14:15

UCT Libraries is currently running a 20 minute basic library skills session. All UCT Students are strongly encouraged to attend and learn how to effectively search the Library's collection using the new library catalogue.

Survive your assignments with a 20 minute session in:

1) Get smart with Primo - Primo searches UCT Libraries' collections - books, eBooks, journals, articles, theses, DVDs, course materials and more

2) Get clever with Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Sessions offered on a Tuesday and Thursday in Ulwazi training room by a librarian.

Require more information or if you interested in additional sessions to be offered, please send an email to Nuroo Davids email: Nuroo.davids@uct.ac.za

Hlanganani
Hlanganani opening late on 20 Jan
Tuesday, January 19, 2016 - 09:15

Hlanaganani Level 6 will open at 10h00 on Wednesday 20 Jan to accommodate a general staff meeting. 

UCT library closure times
Thursday, March 22, 2018 - 12:30

UCT Libraries will be closed on :

Friday 30 March, Saturday 31 March and Monday 02 April (Easter weeekend)

The Hlanganani 24/7 study area will be open when the library is closed.

 

 

Saturday access to Government Publications
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 - 13:45

Please note that on Saturdays access to Government Publications is through Special Collections in the J.W. Jagger Library on University Avenue.

Library Late Opening, 4 August 2017
Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 13:15

UCT Libraries will open at 10h00 on Friday 4 August 2017 to accommodate a general staff meeting. Apologies for any inconvenience.

Love Data Week Competition
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 16:15

Upload your research data to the UCT ZivaHub figshare repository during Love Data Week (12 - 16 February 2018) and stand a chance to win figshare swag!

Library circulation notice
Monday, November 20, 2017 - 13:30

Please take note: discontinuation of library book stamps

Professor Phakeng, DVC Research & Internationalisation
Review: Launch of the new institutional data repository, ZivaHub
Friday, November 10, 2017 - 13:00

DLS' Digital Curation Officer, Kayleigh Lino, writes about the department's engagement activities leading up to the launch of ZivaHub, UCT's new data repository.

Mr South Africa scores a PhD
Monday, July 24, 2017 - 08:30

The current Mr South Africa, Habib Noorbhai, is among the PhD graduates at the mid-year graduation at UCT on 14 July. His research into the backlift technique in cricket – an essential component of a sound batting technique – has underpinned the design of a revolutionary training bat.

Immelman, level 4 Closed
Monday, July 17, 2017 - 07:45

Immelman level 4 will be closed for renovations and will re-open on Monday 21 August 2017. Apologies for any inconvenience.

Library Learning Lounge Closure
Friday, July 14, 2017 - 16:30

The Library Learning Lounge will be closed for the Vacation from 17 July to 11 August 2017 and will re-open on Monday 14 August. Please use the facilities in the main library during this time. 

Pages